BobcatReport - Texas State to join Sunbelt in 2013
football Edit

Texas State to join Sunbelt in 2013

Multiple sources have confirmed to the BobcatReport staff that Texas State will join the Sun Belt Conference for the 2013 season from their soon-to-be future league, the Western Athletic Conference.
The Bobcats, one of seven universities competing in the WAC for the 2012 season, will defect from the Denver-based league along with UT San Antonio (CUSA), Utah State (MWC), and San Jose State (MWC).
Texas State is expected to replace North Texas in the Sun Belt, also reported to be joining Conference USA with UTSA. Georgia State was recently added to the Sun Belt for the 2013 season from the Football Championship Subdivision. The Sun Belt also expects to lose Florida International to CUSA.
The 2013 Sun Belt, led by longtime WAC commissioner Karl Benson, will consist of 2011 champion Arkansas State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Troy, South Alabama, Middle Tennessee State, Western Kentucky, Florida International, Georgia State, and Texas State. Longtime member Arkansas-Little Rock does not compete in football.